The split agreed upon, now voters will have final say on sales tax

The City of Elberton unanimously approved a resolution to enter into an intergovernmental agreement with the Elbert County Board of Commissioners and the City of Bowman concerning a one percent 2019 T-SPLOST  (Transportation Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax) during the city’s first regular meeting of the year on Monday night.

According to the agreement drafted by County Attorney Bill Daughtry, the T-SPLOST (if approved) will be imposed on all “qualified sales and uses within the special district of Elbert County for a period of five years beginning on July 1, 2019 until June 30, 2024 to raise an estimated amount of $9.84 million.

The agreement states that from the total proceeds of the T-SPLOST, 73 percent will be allocated to Elbert County, 23 percent will be allocated to the City of Elberton and 4 percent will be allocated to the City of Bowman.

The total estimated cost of City of Elberton projects comes to $2,263,200.

The contract also states that 30 percent of the estimated revenues are being “expended on projects that are consistent with the Statewide Strategic Transportation Plan.” An “oversight committee” will be established consisting of one member appointed by the county, one member appointed by the City of Elberton and one member appointed by the City of Bowman.

The committee will meet at least once a year in 2019 and 2020, and at least twice a year in 2021, 2022, 2023 and 2024 to review the progress of the projects funded by the T-SPLOST.

The City of Elberton was the first government entity of the three to approve the agreement since their regular meeting is held at the beginning of the month. The City of Bowman will vote in a called meeting on Thursday and the Elbert County Board of Commissioners will vote next Monday during their regular meeting.

Once approved by all three government entities, the county will take action to call an election on March 19, 2019 for citizens to cast their vote in favor or in opposition of the T-SPLOST.

Former Mayor Pro tem Troy Colquitt nominated council member Rick Prince to serve as Mayor Pro tem for the 2019 year. Prince was sworn in under oath by Mayor Larry Guest.  City Attorney Steve Jenkins and Municipal Court Judge Robert Johnson were also sworn in by affirmation.

Council members unanimously approved a resolution to set qualifying fees for the Nov. 5, 2019 Municipal General Election. According to the resolution, the Official Code of Georgia requires the Mayor and Council to set qualifying fees at three percent of the total compensation received by the officials in the preceding calendar year, which is $358.  Council seats of Ward 2 and 3 will be up for election.

City Clerk Cindy Churney was appointed as Elections Superintendent/Absentee Ballot Clerk.

Second Slider: 

The Elberton star

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 280
Elberton, GA  30635

Phone: 706-283-8500
Fax: 706-283-9700